Thoughts of Michael
Thoughts of Michael
The Birthday Surprise
--:--
--:--

The Birthday Surprise

Thoughts of Michael

Before becoming a teacher I worked at several restaurants as a server. I’ve worked in fine dining and in more casual restaurants like The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. I learned a lot working at The Keg and became fairly efficient at up selling products1, ‘selling the sizzle’ (fancy way of selling AAA rated Keg steaks), and flipping tables.2

I’ve always felt pretty confident working with people in the service industry and always tried to do the best I could. However, that didn’t mean I was always the most calm of servers. When people are hungry and you’re bringing them food and drink, it can be stressful. You have the kitchen staff pressuring you to get the food out when it’s hot, and you also have the management pressuring you to get people out and back into those seats.

Communication was key, to get the orders correct and to coordinate people coming and going.

One night I had a reservation in my section for twelve people. That wasn’t a big deal, it was a birthday and larger groups could often be fun - especially when people were in a festive mood!

I set up the table and people started rolling in. The friendly scent of over-sprayed perfume filled the air, smiles and hugs took place, the usual for a birthday. I offered the group drinks as they continued to trickle in, they told stories and laughed. I made sure to help the other guests in my section so they wouldn’t feel ignored. I’d pop back periodically, to check on the big table.

They ordered lots of appies and drinks and you could tell they were getting into the flow of a good visit. We were still waiting on one guest, though, the most important guest of all, the Father! I headed back to the wait station and I kept a close eye on them. Every once in a while I’d casually swing by and take a peek to see whether the man had arrived yet.

He hadn’t so I continued on doing what servers do when there’s nothing to do. I waited (hence, the name Waiter).

Time passed and he still hadn’t arrived. I was beginning to get a little concerned for the man who was celebrating his birthday. The management was also on me to get their orders in. I couldn’t possibly rush a birthday, especially when the birthday person wasn’t even there yet.

Where would he be? Why was he so late?

I swung by the table and checked the drinks yet again. Only one refill this time, a slow night, and walked away.

The next time I arrived, a young woman who seemed to be in charge, stood up and walked over to me with some urgency.

Do you…do you think we could uh… order?

… Oh! Absolutely. I’m sorry, I was waiting for your Dad since it’s his birthday.

A short pause.

Ohhhhhhhh….. No one told you? Our Dad died last year. We’re just out celebrating his birthday. The empty seat is symbolic.

… Oh my God. I’m SO sorry.

Please don’t be. I’m sorry that wasn’t communicated to you.

Do you notice that word above? C-O-M-M-U-N-I-C-A-T-E-D?

It’s pretty important.

If I hadn’t known, I would’ve probably brought them a dessert with a sparkler on top. The weirdest part would’ve been singing Happy Birthday to a dead guy!

Surprise!!!

With Gratitude,

Ps. If you liked this post, please share with someone who might enjoy it.

Leave a comment

Share

1

If you’re not familiar with this term, here’s an example.

Me: You’d like a caesar? Would you like that Keg Size?

Guest: What’s Keg size?

Me: It’s great, you get an extra shot of vodka and more clamato!

Guest: Yes PLEASE!!

(For all non-Canadians, a caesar is a great drink explained here. Some might think it sounds gross, but it’s fantastic!)

2

This is also called ‘turning tables’… it’s when you get new guests or customers in and you make things quick and efficient enough so everyone is happy, and they leave so new people can come in. Some servers are bad at this and push you out, but there’s a fine line where you can be efficiently moving people in and out of your section. If you do it right, you usually make more tips. More customers = more tips.

0 Comments
Thoughts of Michael
Thoughts of Michael
Michael shares stories and insight as a writer, teacher, artist and film maker.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Florizone